Most Shared

Fox Kansas KSAS-TV - Search Results

The following is an archived video story. The text content of that video story is available below for reference. The original video has been deleted and is no longer available.

Kansas counties eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance

TOPEKA, Kansas - President Barack Obama has granted Gov. Sam Brownback's Sept. 25 request for a federal disaster declaration for a number of Kansas counties affected by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding from July 22 to Aug. 16.

The federal declaration was issued Oct. 22.

"This federal assistance will help these counties restore roads, bridges and other infrastructure so vital to the day to day business of their communities," said Brownback.

Forty-six counties are eligible to apply for Public Assistance funds to help repair infrastructure damaged or destroyed by the storms.

The counties are Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Butler, Chase, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Comanche, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Edwards, Elk, Ellsworth, Ford, Geary, Greenwood, Hamilton, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Lane, Linn, Lyon, Marion, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Ness, Ottawa, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Saline, Sumner, Washington, Wilson, and Woodson. additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

The declaration also authorizes all Kansas counties to apply for grants to mitigate the effects of future disasters through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.



Advertise with us!
Advertise with us!

Washington Times